prodigalmomma











{October 27, 2011}   Creative prejudice

I was made aware of this article by my good friends at the Heritage Arts Company, they posted this article regarding Vimeo’s latest ruling on computer gaming.  I thought it was quite an interesting read, and the argument put forward in an eloquent and articulate manner.  But do have a read and see what you think.

My discussionHere’s my brief discussion/rant on the issue – admittedly I know little about the video gaming world, you will see that I describe myself as a ‘lay person’ in this arena.  But what I’ve noticed in young children is no joke.  When asking children to describe events over the summer holidays many seemed incapable of moving beyond the essential and basic facts.

I’m not alone in commenting on this colleagues working in early years have noted that the children struggle to devise games and activities of their own volition.  They appear at times to be unable to use their initiative.

If video killed the radio star… does the computer game kill imagination?

Surely this is a scary prospect when we live in a rapidly changing world.  As a teacher I know that I am effectively preparing the children whom I teach for jobs, careers and professions which simply do not currently exist.  If we flick through job adverts and descriptions employers rarely seek (or claim to seek) employees who might work as automotons (no, robots have already claimed those variety of jobs) but people capable of using their initiative, meet needs before they are recognised and to work without direct supervision.

So how are computer games, DS’s, brain training software equipping our children and ourselves for the future?  Are they an addition or a detraction?  Do we return to the dilemma of “because something is then we may argue that it should be“.

And one of the thought-provoking conversations I had with a child regarding a long car drive over the holday…

Me:       Ooh, that’s a long way in the car… did you see lots of interesting things on the way?

Child:   I don’t know… I was watching a dvd.

Sci-fi tells of a fantasy world where machines have the upper hand, it never mentions how we turn our own children into them…

Leave a Reply

et cetera
